A Black Female Medical Student

Cheers to the Frickin Wknd

Posted on: October 24, 2011

So last night was a great night. I had so much fun, I went out and met up with some friends from undergrad. There was some drama though.

So there’s this guy I used to talk to in undergrad, but we went to different cities for grad  school so it kinda fizzled out. But I always remembered him as being a really nice guy and really respectful and all that. He was so cute about approaching me, it was really sweet. Anyway, I reached out to him when I got up here, but I never heard back from him. I didn’t really think about it too much because I knew I didn’t do anything to him, plus I knew I was gonna run into him eventually. I was more annoyed  than anything else.

Anyway so of course I ran into him last night, so I say hi to him but I’m kinda wary you know lol…

But he tells me he’s been avoiding me, and I was like “yeah, i figured, but why tho? what’s your problem? I thought we were friends.”

So it comes out that he has a gf, and I’m like “So? It didn’t even have to be like that. You could have at least let me know you got the msg… or just told me you had a gf. You were being rude.”

But he says something about how he has problems… something about not wanting to be bad….and he has a hard time being good when if he finds a girl attractive…. it didn’t really make any sense.  I was like “whaaa? You’re trippin. Dude. Its not even that serious, okay?”

He also let it slip that he’d been FB stalking me, which I thought was cute. :-)

ANYWAY the gf walks past and he reaches out to her and she does that little thing that girls do when they don’t want to be touched lol. You know… the “Don’t you dare touch me!” maneuver. And he told me she was getting mad, and he had to go talk to her. I don’t know what her problem was though, cuz all we were doing was talking.

Later on in the night, I ran into him again, and we we started to dance for like 2 sec, and then this short little minion  person of a girl runs up on me and says “Do you go to our school?”. And I was like “No…. but since you asked, I go to medical school way on the other side of the country, you’ve probably heard of it. Its ranked much higher than yours.”

Lol sike. I didn’t say that. But that’s what I was thinking. I just told her where I went.

But then she comes at me really aggressive, like “well, what are you doing over here then?”

:-O

And I’m like “Whoa. What’s your problem? I’m getting a master’s at the best school in the world. What are you doing over here?”

Sike. I didn’t say that. But that’s what I was thinking. But I told her what I was doing and where I went, and she shut up for a minute. My new school tends to have that effect on people.

She was mad pressed though, cuz then she says, “Well who invited you here?” And I’m kinda like okay, I’ve entertained this long enough. So the dude intercedes and tells her they know me from undergrad. And then she does this spooky thing where she disappears into thin air, I guess to report back to her master. I though I peeped the GF grimacing at me from across the room, but I couldn’t tell if she was actually really mad at me, or if that was just how her face is set. I don’t think I saw her smile the whole night lol.

So I  told him, “I’m sorry. You tried to tell me, and I didn’t believe you. Clearly there’s a lot going on with the people at your school. I’m going to leave you alone now. Like I said, its not that serious.”

So I kinda just did my own thing for the rest of the night. The music was good so I did a lot of dancing. I’m a pretty good dancer, so dudes were getting sprung. Its not like I’m classically trained or anything, I just get down. lol. But yeah, two guys asked for my number, one is an engineer, the other is another med student but at a different school. They were just okay looking though… not drop dead gorgeous or anything. But they did help me get my mind off the guy who I went out with last week who fell off the face of the earth and pretty much just absconded with my ego. LOL.

 

Good night!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

