A Black Female Medical Student

Posted on: August 17, 2008

So there is this guy in my class and my roomie thinks he likes me. At first I couldn’t stand him…. he was just really weird and rude it seemed, but I think maybe he just felt awkward around me.

Anyhoo, so Friday night we went to this party at a friend’s house and I met him there, and we actually had a decent conversation. We went home, and apparently he went and looked my number up in our orientation packet, and started texting me. I’m a friendly chick so I texted back… anyways fast forward to the next day when we’re all sitting around studying in the BSLC and he randomly texts me and my roomie to ask if we want some coffee. I assumed that he wanted us to hit him back, but my roomie cleared that up for me.

This is not something that guys from HU do, so I was impressed and honestly quite flattered. Especialy since he hadn’t really struck me as such a friendly guy. Then about 5 of us went out to dinner, it was me, my roomie, dude, and 2 other guys. When we were done eating, I was about to call the waitress for separate checks, and then another guy from the group put some money down and motioned for the rest of the guys to cover the tab. And they did. It was sweet. It was gentlemanly. And somehow very sexy.

They started making jokes about how we ate for free the entire day, and it was true…. I had not expected that, especially since we’re all just a bunch of broke medical students, but honestly their generosity really impressed me.

So now, this guy who I had blatantly, expressly, and adamantly absolutely refused to consider as any kind of romantic interest is…. a possibility. It wasn’t just some coffee and a some free food. It also had something to do with, an acknowledgement and acceptance of their masculinity and what it entails. It also brought out his thoughtfulness, which is a very sweet and endearing quality for a man to have…. this I know. Not to mention, his generosity…. it may not seem that much to you, but as broke medical students living on a stringent budget, a little goes a long way.

Anyways, that, dear men, is how you begin to win a girl over… masculinity, generousity, and thoughtfulness. Now, I’m not won over yet…. not nearly so. But I’m open to thought of it…. which is a lot more than I was yesterday.

Leave a Reply

