A Black Female Medical Student

1 month down….

Posted on: September 2, 2008

So, I have just finished my first month of medical school.

Academically, I would really like to do better. I improved considerably on my last test, which is a good thing. I’m not hanging on by a thread at the bottom of the pile, its more like I’m floating around near the middle now. I would like to be somewhere in the top half, so I still have some work to do. But I’m passing, which is most important to me right now.

I would say that my most important study tool right now is my Gray’s. Contrary to what some may tell you, simply memorizing the Netter’s flashcards does not suffice, at least not at my institution. However, my school is a bit unique in that the tests are configured a bit differently. There is no simple multiple choice; tests questions can range from matching, to fill-in-the-blank, to essay questions, to drawing diagrams, to multiple choice questions with multiple right answers (they’re actually like a series of true/false), so its a bit hard on the cranium.

Its not too bad though.

Emotionally, I’m pretty happy. Its kinda hard for me to keep in contact with friends and family back home as much as I would like, but do try. I’m making new friends here, and they are amazing. So smart, supportive, and fun. The other black people in my class took awhile to grow on me, but I’ve really come to like some of them. I may never be good friends with a few of them, but I like most of them.

If you’re interviewing, I would say that you should try to find a pass/fail school…. it is more important than I thought it would be and to do a through check of the kind of people who are there. You will be spending soooo much time with classmates, and if you don’t like them, you could very well be miserable in med school which isn’t fun.

Okay. Gotta go to bed.

Leave a Reply

