A Black Female Medical Student

I failed a test for the first time in med school. It wasn’t as bad as I thought…. its just like, well…. that sucks. When’s retake?

Ironically I think its because I pushed myself too far the weekend prior to the test. I was completely burnt out by the time the test rolled around Monday, I was so mentally exhausted that I forgot what I had studied. Not a good look. Anyways, I have to retake both the exam and the practical, but I’m going to wait until after this particular module.

We’re in Head & Neck now. Its a lot of material, but I think I’ve been pacing myself a little better. I have also been enlisting the help of my classmates. Before I was reluctant to study with others because I was afraid of looking stupid, but I’ve come to realize how beneficial this is. If they know more then me, then I just ask them to teach me what they know.

I also volunteered in a clinic for the first time as a medical student. It was completely overwhelming as the  clinic was PACKED. Its a pediatric clinic in a severely underserved area and its back-to-school time so we had a lot of patients. My first patient was a 5 yr old boy with a serious case of autism. He kicked and screamed the whole time and also tried to bite me. I learned a lot, primarily that I still have A LOT to learn. Quite sobering to be truthful.

Off-topic, but I’m watching Pride & Prejudice. I absolutely loooooove this movie. We’re at the scene where Mr. Darcy comes walking across the field during sunrise. Could a man be anymore perfect? Not to mention, Kiera Knightley was gorgeous in this film. Self admittedly, I am a bit of a cynic when it comes to romance, but this movie is so sweet…. I don’t mind being a little sappy for a couple of hours.

Speaking of romance…. I think one of my classmates asked me out on a date today. I’m really not sure. I texted him to clarify, and I feel like we’re in the midst of a huge misunderstanding right now. Further exacerbated by the fact that my roommate thinks that dude’s roommate likes me too. Crazy, huh…. I feel like I’m on Grey’s Anatomy.

Speaking of Gray’s Anatomy…. I really need to get back to it. No more failing tests for me!!!

Oh… here goes my favorite line from the film:

“You may only call me Mrs. Darcy when you are completely, totally, incandescently happy.”

“And how are you this evening, Mrs. Darcy…… Mrs. Darcy….. Mrs. Darcy….. Mrs. Darcy….. Mrs. Darcy” ***swoon***

I have church in the early morning so I’m packing up. Good night all.

1 Response to ""

So yeh we get it you are in medical school..so?Blog title is way too cheesy..

Leave a Reply

