A Black Female Medical Student

2 Decades Down….

Posted on: October 28, 2008

Sitting in the computer lab, semi-studying, semi-contemplating my last day as a 20 year old.

20 was a big year for me. I finally broke up with my ex, graduated from college, lived by myself for the first time, learned to cook really well, got my first car, moved to Chicago, had my first real spring break (went to Miami… it was AWESOME), and STARTED MEDICAL SCHOOL.

It was definitely a fun age. I’m looking forward to 21 though, I can finally stop sneaking into 21 & over clubs! I know my friends have been annoyed, because its always some huge escapade to get me in. I mean, I know every trick in the game to get in where I really don’t fit in lol.

Still, it was fun.

I also have a Chicago winter to look forward to… I really don’t look forward to that. Its already BLISTERINGLY cold, and I SWEAR I saw some snowflakes yesterday. However, fall/ winter fashion up here is just TO DIE FOR!!! I never knew you could look so cute in the cold! These Chicagoans have opened my eyes up to new things.

Not to mention, I have a whole bunch of new friends. Of course I miss my old ones, but my new ones are amazing too. They are some of the smartest, funniest, kindest people I have ever met in life.

Despite the fact that medical school has taken over my life, I still think my birthday weekend is going to be extra fun. Not only because its Halloween, but also cuz…. ITS HOMECOMING WKND!!!

Yeah, 21 will be fun.

And, YES, I will be able to experience life as a 21 yr old on a college campus after all. Even if only for a weekend. 🙂

I am very excited, not only for the parties, concerts, old friends, etc., but BECAUSE I AM GETIING OUT OF CHICAGO.

Don’t get me wrong, I love it here. But it’ll be nice to get AWAY. I’m going back to the undergrad, and please believe I will be acting bad.

But not too bad of course… don’t want to compromise this new pre-professional image I got going on.

But anyways, there is this HUGE party happening this Saturday, and I bought the dress for it. Believe me… its sleek. Maybe a little too sleek…… lol.

Still it is my 21st, so its all about the grown and sexy, right? I got the sexy down, but the grown is still a few hours away….

Anyways, let me stop being silly.

I have to take a Biochemistry test before I leave (life of a med student, the work never, EVER stops), but after that… gameover.

So once again, its back to studying for me…. TATA.

Oh yeah… here is a song that has been playing in the back of my mind this whole week.


Cupid… doesn’t lie
But you won’t know unless you give it a try
Oh baby, true love
won’t lie but we won’t know unless we give it a try

Luuuuuuuv it!

Leave a Reply

