A Black Female Medical Student

MY PRESIDENT IS BLACK

Posted on: November 5, 2008

I don’t know if you heard or not, but…..

BARACK OBAMA IS OUR NEW PRESIDENT-ELECT OF THE UNITED STATES

I had this on my shirt yesterday, only it was in red, black, green and yellow. My black friends thought I looked defiant, my white friends thought it was cute.

I had this on my shirt yesterday, only it was in red, black, green and yellow. My black friends thought I looked "defiant", my white friends thought it was "cute".

I was in Grant Park last night!

It was AWESOME! I was so happy to be there….  the crowds were massive and I had to get on one of my classmates shoulders in order to see anything, but it was still one of the most amazing experiences of my life, and I’m happy because I can say:

I WAS THERE WHEN CHANGE HAPPENED!!!

And the weather has just been BEAUTIFUL in Chicago… I mean, just amazing. I wore a dress and flip flops today! Which is generally completely unheard of as far as Novembers in Chicago are concerned. I truly believe God is smiling down on us, and he is just as happy as we are about our new president.

Also, I PLAYED WHIRLYBALL TODAY.

If you have not experienced this… err… sport, you are completely missing out. Its pretty much just lacrosse on bumper cars, and just overall the most ridiculous (but fun) game I have ever played. Also, it was school sponsored event so I didn’t have to pay for anything, which is also great.

Anyways, I am just having an AWESOME week. I think I’m gong to look back on this week as one of the best in my entire life.

Its my first full week as a 21 yr old, so no doors are closed to me due to my age, Barack Obama has been elected president, so millions of doors that were formerly closed to me because of my race are now OPEN, add to that I just got back from Homecoming this weekend and completely ACED (I believe) my Biochem test on Monday,  plus the sun is shining, the weather is beautiful, and I ain’t got NO TESTS THIS WEEK, so life is goooooooooooood.

🙂

2 Responses to "MY PRESIDENT IS BLACK"

“My president is black”.

Sucks to be you.

YES, WE DID!!! OBAMA-BIDEN ’08!

Leave a Reply

