A Black Female Medical Student

Checking In…

Posted on: November 11, 2008

I know its been awhile since I’ve updated, but honestly, I’ve been very busy. My mother came into town this past weekend and she made me some awesome food. In the spirit of friendship and class camaraderie, I shared it with some of my classmates. Unfortunately, my mother had sprinkled some crayfish throughout the stew she made, and one of my classmates is allergic to shellfish (and pretty much everything else, apparently), so we ended up having to run him over to the emergency room in the middle of night.

What an end to the weekend, huh?

But I got a new winter coat this week (which is so cute, by the way), as well as a new dress, some flats, and a couple of turtlenecks. Oh and the cutest pair of boots ever!

I also got to see my baby sister and show her off to my classmates. She is unbelievably funny and smart, so she provided us with some much needed comic relief throughout the weekend. 🙂

All in all, it was a pretty nice weekend, apart from the near anaphylactic shock episode. Sike… it wasn’t that bad. I still felt pretty guilty about the whole thing, though. He had to get doped up with Benadryl and missed a day of studying, so I brought him some natural remedies for allergic reactions that I had looked up on the Internet. I don’t think he actually used any of them, but he seemed to appreciate the gesture.

Today wasn’t so great though. I had an argument with my roommate last night (over the silliest thing, really), and it was really cold and rainy. However, the rain did give me a chance to try out my new “weatherproof” boots and I must say they are phenomenal. Also, I have a test in Physiology tomorrow and it seems like its gonna be another one of those cram/say a prayer/hope for the best nights because I do not feel the least bit ready.

I’m also pretty hungry.

I’m really hungry actually.

Anyways, thats about it for now. Like I said, I have Physio tomorrow and Biochem on Friday so, I probably won’t be back for while.

Toodles.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • abeja: Just found this blog skimming seems interesting...
  • Tashawna: Hey, Im a freshman in college and have been skimming through a few of your blogs. I just wanted to ask you some questions on how you got into medschoo
  • blackgirlmd: No she wasn't scared. Like I said, I think she already knew. My hours are cool. I have about four 8-hr shifts every wk which is pretty chill. Wayyy be

Categories