A Black Female Medical Student

Boy Meets Girl….

Posted on: November 19, 2008

Yeah, I know… the blog has been a little bare lately, but its been a slow last couple of days. We’ve hit the end of the semester slump, and I have no more tests until finals in early December. Took my Biochem test this past Friday (I think I did pretty well, but you never know with that class), and I’ve pretty much been chillaxin ever since.

One of the SNMA chapters at another school in the city held a Wine & Cheese mixer this past Saturday and I went with a few of my classmates. It was pretty chill, and most people kinda stayed with their class as far as actual socializing was concerned, but I did unexpectedly run into another Hampton Alum while there, which is always nice. There was an afterparty aftwerwards, but the whole event was pretty pretentious. Everyone was trying to get their grown & sexy on so it wasn’t a really FUN kinda party. Some of my male classmates came back with a few interesting stories, but the night was pretty uneventful for me. I came home and went straight to sleep.

Our class has a higher black male/female ratio than most of the other medical school classes  in the city (50%), apparently, so some of my males classmates were in high demand (or so they said lol). It was weird seeing other girls eye them and in some cases, jump all over them. But it was cute seeing them in their mack mode. The whole vibe was just weird for me though. I feel like finding a mate was present on a lot of people’s minds… but I was just there because I had nothing else to do that night. I was also still err… recuperating from some of the previous night’s festivities so I wasn’t my normal, sociable self.

I was talking to one of my male classmates yesterday about the weird dynamic between the black females in out class. Our class is about 11% black (which isn’t saying much for a class of 101), 1/2 girls and 1/2 guys. The girls are pretty cliqueish and we generally don’t interact with each other outside of our clique, unfortunately. I’m a reformed tomboy and have always gravitated towards guys, so I tend to hang out with a lot of the guys in addition to the girls that I chill with. Anyways, unbeknownst to me, the other girls in the class are in some semi-fierce, passive-aggressive type competition for the attention of these guys. Either way, I’m no competition for these women as far as relationships are concerned. I’m more like a little sister than a potential girlfriend as far as the guys are concerned, but I don’t think the other girls in the class know that so I’ve been the recipient of some downright chily behavior in some cases.

Anyways, its all a postulation on my part, but its the best explanation I’ve got for some of the uhh… funny behavior I’ve experienced from some of the other females in our class. It’s all good. I do understand the desire to settle down, and I am also considerably younger than many of my classmates so its also understandable that the desire has not hit me yet.

I don’t know when I will actively embark on the journey to find a mate, but it won’t be anytime soon. I also hope that when I’m ready, I won’t have to wait very long and someone snatches me up fairly quickly. I don’t think I have the energy to catfight (passively or actively) for the attentions of a dude. I don’t even think I’m cut out for the catfight to be perfectly honest. I don’t know what the heck is going on half the time.

Leave a Reply

