A Black Female Medical Student

Stupid Snow

Posted on: December 6, 2008

So…. its cold and snowy in Chicago, and I’m right smack in the middle of finals. Blah.

I’ve been here in Panera studying with my big sib (who is so awesome by the way…. I like her so much) ALL DAY. But its not too bad! Nice ambiance, good food and good company make for happy studying.

If only the weather weren’t so…. stupid.

One thing that has (negatively) surprised me about Chicago is how much it snows.

Don’t get me wrong, I knew it would be cold. I just didn’t know HOW cold. It was in the TEENS yesterday! The TEENS!

Its ridiculous! I was happy and enchanted after the first snowfall, but since like… Monday its just been snowing incessantly and in all different kinda ways! Snow flurries, snow showers, sleet, freezing rain….

I find it annoying. I’m used to getting like one big snow and everybody gets all excited and then its over. Not this unending…. froth.

And the worst thing about it is that we get all this snow and no snow days.

But yeah.

So in other news….

I went to the club last night. It was fun, I guess. The music was good, but there were just all kinds of shady characters milling about. I mean sketchy people all around! And I have never seen so many (seemingly) straight guys dance with each other and seem happy about it. Not that there’s anything wrong with it, but that behavior is generally reserved for females. And, dude, they were amp’d.

But the music was good…. I think I would have had more fun if I was just a little more drunk. Only cuz my inhibitions would have been lowered. I was dancing, but not too much. I just had this lingering fear in the back of my mind that if I got too jiggy with it, one of those shady characters would have tried to dance with me.

I went with a one other female classmate and a whole bunch of male classmates. They were having fun using the “I’m a medical student at [insert name of prestigious unversity here]” line. The girls were just loving it.

And the guys were just loving it that the girls were just loving it.

Sketchy.

But yeah, thats really about it. I’ll be back home again in a week and I’m really trying to do something fun and refreshing. No more loafing. Maybe I’ll go visit my sister or visit some of my friends that I have scattered about the US.

Anyways, its back to studying for me.

Smooches!

2 Responses to "Stupid Snow"

I guess this answers my question lol at your whole post
Good luck on those finals.

Lol…. thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

