A Black Female Medical Student

Stresssssss

Posted on: July 16, 2009

I have spent a good portion of this summer stressing out. Not a good look. Even though I did have a lot on my plate, it would be completely unfair to me to let this summer pass me by without really enjoying it.

What with my research, my 2nd job, the pipeline programs/ mentoring, and the fact that I now have 2 papers to write as opposed to just one, I was pretty overwhelmed. And that’s okay because that does happen at times. However, I would work throughout the week and end up coming to the weekend drained, and just when I thought things were going to get better, my mentor assigns me another project to work on.

At first I started to stress out and tell myself that I would relax next week, but I realized I’ve been saying that since the beginning of the summer, and we’re halfway through already! That’s when I just decided to just chill…. even if I don’t end up submitting both papers for publication by the end of AUgust (WHATTTTTT??!), I am going to look at this as a learning experience and take what I can from it, WITH THE MOST RELAXED ATTITUDE POSSIBLE.

I had this “epiphany” Tuesday, and I just pushed the anxiety away. And even without all the stress and hypertension (lol) I have had a fairly productive week. 🙂

Anyways, I just felt like sharing.

Tata for now.

1 Response to "Stresssssss"

Hi,

I just wanted to tell you that I love reading your blog. I’m in the process of taking my science pre-reqs and to read about your experience is a real motivator. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

