A Black Female Medical Student

Time Has Come, The Walrus Said….

Posted on: April 18, 2010

So the time has come for me to submit my lottery rankings. They are actually due tomorrow. I haven’t done anything…. I keep putting it off because I don’t know what to do! I’m so confused.

I’m trying to sort it out in my mind. Right now, I have 3 fields that I’m primarily interested in: Emergency Med, OB/GYN, and Urology. Urology is something that I became interested in recently, I will have to do some more shadowing in the field before I can really say for sure, but I absolutely love Emergency Med, and I like OB.  Neither Urology nor Emergency Med is traditionally offered in the 3rd year, so I do feel some pressure trying to decide which one I try to lobby for a 3rd year clerkship in.

For OB/GYN and Urology, I think that having a good surgery background is important, and for EM, having both a good medicine and surgery background is important. Ideally I would like to get both Medicine and Surgery out of the way early on so that I can shine on the rest of my clerkships, but I’m concerned about how much room I will have for learning if I choose to do both of those earlier on in the year, when I haven’t gotten acclimated to the hospital yet.

Oh well, it will all work out in end. I find out whether I got my pick tomorrow so we’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

