A Black Female Medical Student

Posted on: May 19, 2010

Board study is… I don’t know. Its stressful. I don’t everything is just crazy. I’m not doing as well as I would like to be doing on Cardio. I was getting cocky after I took my first practice test last week, but its gonna take a lot more work than I thought to get where I want to be.

Its getting harder and harder for me to focus. I feel like I’m getting less smart. There is no way that I’m going to push this test back though. Absolutely no way. I’m taking it on the 11th and that’s final. I want to be all awesome and motivated, but its getting harder and harder to do that. Especially since I feel a little bit like my body is falling apart. I feel dumb!

I’m not though. I’m doing okay. My scores on my practice tests dropped as the day went on, so maybe fatigue has something to do with it. I’ll spend the first 1/2 of tomorrow making myself read the Cardio pharm (which I absolutely HATE), and then I’m really gonna go through my wrong answers. One thing is that I am getting quite a few Biostats questions, but I’m starting to learn so hopefully those will soon start to become the “gimmies” that they’re supposed to be. Also, I have NOT been as thorough in reading explanations as I was when I first started out, so that stops today. I think it may have something to do with the fact that I would like to feel like I feel more comfort with this material than I did with some of this other stuff, but my grades are not reflecting that. So clearly, I need to take a more serious approach with this stuff than I have been.

I think I assumed the hard stuff was over since I go through the first couple of weeks, but clearly that’s not the case. And clearly I have alot more room for improvement if I’m consistently scoring so low on questions! But one another thing is that I did not really take any time off this past wknd. I wanted to put serious hours in this wknd, but I’m totally going to just take a break. Maybe work in the Saturday morning and then take some time off in the afternoon. Go and do my toenails or something. I was thinking about doing my hair, but I don’t feel like putting my hair through that trauma right now.

But yeah, time to put things in perspective. I could be doing a lot worse. I just want to be doing better. I’m going put myself to bed, make sure I get at least 7 hours, get up tomorrow and KILL CARDIO ONCE AND FOR ALL.

And I will NOT stress out abt starting surgery next month.

1 Response to ""

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!

Cheers
Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

