A Black Female Medical Student

Posted on: May 28, 2010

One of the worst things you can do during board study is talk to your classmates. They will stress you out!

I was seeing a lot of improvement earlier in the week, but then I started talking to classmates (which I had seriously avoided before this week), and I have been feeling the negative effects. Its like no matter how much you’re doing, it seems like someone else is doing more/better, but feel like they’re “never gonna be ready.” Forget the fact that people always want to put their two cents in regarding your study methods, whether you asked for it or not.

Either way, I lost my mojo and I want to get it back.

I have 2 weeks from today, and I plan to make the best of it. I’m finishing up GI/Liver today, and I start Reproductive tomorrow. Hopefully, I’ll be done on Sunday so I can take an NBME on Monday. I left the last two weeks of my study schedule blank  in hope that my NBME score would give me an idea of what I need to do, and what I need to focus on.

But yes, if you take one thing from this blog,  during your Step 1 studying, DO NOT TALK TO YOUR CLASSMATES. A cursory “Hi, how are you doing, omg Step 1 studying sucks!” is fine, but anything more than that, then you start having people throw randomly detailed questions at you based off what they just studied (probably something they just got wrong on USMLEWorld), to make themselves feel better. At this point, there is nothing they can offer you except more stress and you do not need that.

All the best, and happy Memorial Day wknd!

Leave a Reply

