A Black Female Medical Student

Its my Season!

Posted on: October 17, 2011

So school has REALLY sped up, and the crazy thing is I’m only taking 1/2 of the number of credits I’m gonna be taking next qtr. Eeek!

I was up late just finishing up some Biostats. I’m really trying to plan my time better, but its hard. I’m the QUEEN of Procrastination, it seems.

Tomorrow evening, I’ll be shadowing in the ED. It’ll be my first time back in the hospital in MONTHS. The funny thing is, after I was done with 3rd year, I left and never looked back. I was just done with clinical stuff. I thought maybe I’d miss it but I don’t. LOL. I’m just doing this to make me a little more competitive for when I do go back to medical school…. I want to match into a good program.

Ugh this environment is so competitive! I keep applying for ish, and getting rejected. Like my ego is really taking a bruising right now. I’m kinda more pissed off than anything. My first reaction is usually… “what do you mean you had too many qualified applicants?! You’re telling me there was someone more qualified than me? That’s ridiculous! I’m fantastic!” as opposed to actually taking a critical review of myself. I think the next time I get rejected (cuz its sure to happen again), I’m going to actually try to follow up and get some feedback. That would be a good idea, right? Maybe I can actually show some humility. LOL.

This week is going to be really busy…a long with classes, I have this paper that I REALLY want to finish by…. hmm. I think I’m going to shoot for Saturday. There’s the whole shadowing thing. Then there’s my side job…. then there’s my hair, I really need to find a braiding shop up here, I wanna get it done before my B-day, then there’s social stuff. Oh and yet another dude asked me out on a date… maybe it has something to do with my b-day coming up or something LOL

OH yeah… speaking of dates…..  🙂

So that dude that I was soooo disappointed about last wk? Yeah, he ended up asking me out. Yeah, I was totally overreacting. He is totally cute… really sweet… a total gentleman.  He just doesn’t give me butterflies for some reason. Which SUCKS cuz he looks really good on paper.

It was a really nice date though. We talked about a bunch of different things… I like him cuz he’s humble… or at least I think he tried to be. He actually impresses me, which doesn’t happen often.  Still, during our date my mind kept wandering back to that guy I was crushing on in the spring? I dunno…. that guy was just so energetic, he had so much personality, I had so much fun with him. I wish things would have worked out. This new guy didn’t really make me laugh, and I love to laugh. I dunno. We’ll see how it goes. He hasn’t called or texted me yet.

But yeah, that’s it. I’m going to bed.

 

Leave a Reply

